2019-2020 Exceptional Student Honorees

April 29, 2020

Congratulations to our 2019-2020 Exceptional Student Honorees!

Exceptional students are hand-selected by faculty members as the best in the discipline, as students who are most likely to excel in their career field or field of study.

Academic Education 

Associate of Arts, Grand Island Campus — Sierra Boroviak, Central City, NE 

Associate of Arts, Kearney Center — Kayla Bourland, Grand Island, NE 

Associate of Science, Grand Island Campus — Antonio Garcia Campos, Cuba 

Associate of Science, Kearney Center — Stephanie Burmeister, Grand Island, NE 

Biology, Columbus Campus — Katy Eyers, Kearney, NE 

Chemistry, Columbus Campus — Natalie Rodriguez, Columbus, NE 

Early Childhood Education, Columbus Campus — Sheryl Rosno, Genoa, NE 

Early Childhood Education, Grand Island Campus — Amelia Williams-McCarthy, Lincoln, NE 

Early Childhood Education, Hastings Campus — Kimberly Spencer, Kenesaw, NE 

Economics, Columbus Campus — Josue Flores, Schuyler, NE 

English, Columbus Campus — Tristen Romero, Columbus, NE 

Health/Nutrition, Columbus Campus — Samantha Martinez, Columbus, NE 

Mathematics, Columbus Campus — Michael Bates, Hastings, NE 

Music, Columbus Campus — Ally Phillips, Dannebrog, NE 

Philosophy, Columbus Campus — Riston Mais, Heartwell, NE 

Physical Education, Columbus Campus — Guilherme Demhougi, Columbus, NE 

Physics, Columbus Campus — Natalie Rodriguez, Columbus, NE 

Pre-Professional, Columbus Campus — Susan Vavra, Ord, NE 

Psychology, Columbus Campus — Kaitlyn Kleinheksel, Columbus, NE 

Sociology, Columbus Campus — Aubrey Houser, Columbus, NE 

Spanish, Columbus Campus — Josie Cudaback, Bellwood, NE 

Speech, Columbus Campus — Ally Phillips, Dannebrog, NE 

Theatre, Columbus Campus — Dakota Miller, Columbus, NE 


Accounting, Center/Online — Laci Fleming, Hampton, NE 

Accounting, Grand Island Campus — Shelby Harmon, Cairo, NE 

Accounting, Hastings Campus — Christopher Mai, Hastings, NE 

Accounting, Columbus Campus — Stephanie Prochaska, Columbus, NE 

Agricultural Sciences, Columbus Campus — Kyle Haarmann, Bellwood, NE 

Agricultural Sciences Agribusiness, Hastings Campus — Whitney Powell, Hastings, NE 

Agricultural Sciences Precision Agriculture, Hastings, NE — Reggie Rafert, Gresham, NE 

Business Administration, Columbus Campus — Omar Ramirez, Clarks, NE 

Business Administration, Hastings Campus — Julia Brodrick, Deweese, NE 

Business Administration, Center/Online — Nathan Bush, Grand Island, NE 

Business Administration, Grand Island Campus — Katelynn Endicott, Lindsay, NE 

Business Technology, Center/Online — Flora Maass, Blair, NE 

Business Technology, Columbus Campus — Mallorie Buescher, Lexington, NE

Criminal Justice, Center/Online — Kendra Barry, Ainsworth, NE 

Criminal Justice, Columbus Campus — Jose Lowther, Bellwood, NE 

Criminal Justice, Grand Island Campus — Stephanie Mendez, Hastings, NE 

Criminal Justice, Hastings Campus — Bryan Ortiz, Lexington, NE 

Hospitality Management and Culinary Arts, Hastings Campus — Kaitlyn Wiley, Grand Island, NE 

Information Technology & Systems, Columbus Campus — Eloy Rivera-Erives, Grand Island, NE 

Information Technology & Systems, Grand Island Campus — Logan Swanson, Grand Island, NE 

Information Technology and Systems, Hastings Campus — Alex Aldrich, Hastings, NE 

Media Arts-Graphic Arts, Hastings Campus — Joseph Ackerman, Clay Center, NE 

Media Arts-Video Production, Hastings Campus — Michael Dunn, Nelson, NE 

Visual Arts, Columbus Campus — Darlyn Ortez, Bellwood, NE 


Dental Assisting, Hastings Campus — Hannah Vance, Red Cloud, NE 

Dental Hygiene, Hastings Campus — Morgan Schoening, Hastings, NE 

Health Information Management Services, Grand Island Campus — Kristi Johnson, Kearney, NE 

Human Services, Grand Island, NE — Kelli Niewohner, Albion, NE 

Nursing—Associate Degree Nursing, Columbus Campus — Alexis Ramaekers, Genoa, NE 

Nursing—Practical Nurse, Grand Island Campus — Rebecca Brown, Hastings, NE 

Nursing—Practical Nurse, Kearney Center — Jessica Goree, Kearney, NE 

Nursing—Practical Nursing, Columbus Campus — Bryttanie Nelson, Newman Grove, NE 

Nursing—Registered Nurse, Grand Island Campus — Jordan Kelly, Hastings, NE 

Nursing—Registered Nurse, Kearney Center — Nicole Rush, Pleasanton, NE 

Occupational Therapy Assistant, Grand Island Campus — Sarah Hoban, Grand Island, NE 

Paramedicine, Grand Island Campus — Drew Morris, Rapid City, SD 

Skilled & Technical Sciences 

Advanced Manufacturing Design Technology, Hastings Campus — Jesse Buss, Peetz, CO 

Advanced Manufacturing Technology, Kearney Center — Bryan Fahnholz, Amherst, NE 

Auto Body Technology, Hastings Campus — Gene Stander, Aubrey, TX 

Automotive, Hastings Campus — Isaiah Lopez, Hastings, NE 

Construction Technology, Hastings Campus — Laurel Bain, Kearney, NE 

Diesel Technology, Hastings Campus — Braden Hueftle, Hastings, NE 

Drafting & Design Technology, Grand Island Campus — Luke Moore, Cairo, NE 

Drafting and Design Technology, Hastings Campus — Dillon Burns, Oxford, NE 

Electrical Technology, Hastings Campus — Joshua Nelson, Hastings, NE 

Quality Technology, Columbus Campus — Brent Upthagrove, Holdrege, NE 

Welding, Grand Island Campus — Johnnie (JJ) Bower, Kearney, NE 

Welding, Columbus Campus — Nesrudin Yusuf, Schuyler, NE