Board of Governors

Central Community College is governed by an 11-member Board of Governors. Two members are elected from each of five election districts. One member is elected at-large. Members are elected to four-year terms with no limit on the number of terms.

Live board meeting

Archived Meeting information and videos

Counties and precincts included in each election district

Board Members

The following biographies include both current and past professional affiliations and awards.

District 1

Diane KellerDiane Keller, NCCA Representative

Term Expires: 2022 
Employment: Chief Executive Officer, Memorial Community Health Inc., Aurora
Education: Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Master of Health Care Administration 
Affiliations and Awards:
Hamilton County Leadership Tomorrow chair 
Nebraska Community College Association Board 
Heartland Health Alliance 
Governor’s Commission on Child Care Financing 
Nebraska LEAD Fellow

Michelle Broekemier

Central City
Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Assisted Living Administrator
Education: Associate Degree in Long Term Care Administration, Bachelor of Science in Healthcare Management and Nursing Home Administrators Licensing
Affiliations and Awards:
Member of American Nurses Association
Member of Nebraska Health Care Association
Member of American Health Care Association

District 2

Rita SkilesRita Skiles, Vice Chair and NCCA Representative

Term Expires: 2022 
Employment: Self-Employed Advocacy Consultant
Education: Bachelor of Arts in English and School Rehabilitation Counseling
Affiliations and Awards:
Region III Developmental Disabilities Council, chair
Central Region Autism Spectrum Disorder Advisory Member
Nebraska APSE Governing Board
National APSE Advisory Board
CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate)
Central Nebraska Respite Advisory Board
Wendy Wood National Award
Association of Community Professionals
National High Expectations Award from the Assessment Training Institute

Linda Heiden, Treasurer

Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Account Executive at GTA Insurance Group and farm manager for family farm
Education: Bachelor of Science from UNL
Affiliations and Awards:
Past Public Member on the State Board of Health, Board of Cosmetology, Board of Veterinary Medicine and current member of the Board of Optometry
Current member and past president of Bertrand Board of Education

District 3

Roger DavisDr. Roger Davis

Term Expires: 2022
Employment: History Professor, University of Nebraska at Kearney
Education: Bachelor of Arts Degree, Youngstown State University; Master of Arts Degree and Ph.D, University of Arizona; Arizona Community College teaching certificate
Affiliations and Awards:
Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society, national advisory board and national council member
North Central Council of Latin Americanists, president
Nebraska State Education Association Higher, Education Academy president
University of Nebraska Nineteenth Century Studies Steering Committee
Buffalo County Historical Society Board, member and editor of the Buffalo Tales publication
UNK United Way, campaign chair

Sandra BordenSandra Borden

Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Nurse Practitioner for Prompt Care Medical Provider
Education: Master's Degree in Nursing, Post Master's Certificate
Affiliations and Awards:
Nebraska Nurse Practitioners
Nebraska Pride Chorus of Sweet Adelines International
American College Nurse Practitioners
2010 Outstanding Nurse Practitioner for Nebraska
American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

District 4

Austin MillerAustin Miller

Grand Island
Term Expires: 2022
Employment: Firefighter/Paramedic  
Education: Bachelor of Science in Emergency Medical Services
Affiliations and Awards:   
Operation Warm, local coordinator
Special Olympics Swim Team, coach and volunteer
Anti-Drunk Driving Demonstration on Creighton Campus
Numerous North Platte Recreation Center Triathlons and Road Races, volunteer
Creighton EMS Club, secretary 

Tom PirnieTom Pirnie, Secretary

Grand Island
Term Expires: 2024
Employment: President, Grand Island Express
Education: Two Years in Electronics
Affiliations and Awards:
Grand Island Area Economic Development Corporation, vice chair
Five Points Bank
Nebraska Trucking Association
Truckload Carriers Association
Grand Island Rotary Club, past president
Grand Island Dive Rescue Team
Nebraska Trucking Association, past chair

District 5

Linda AerniLinda Aerni

Term Expires: 2022 
Employment: CEO and President, Digital Gaming Solutions; CEO, Community Internet Systems
Education: Associate of Science, Bachelor of Science 
Affiliations and Awards:
Nebraska Information Technology Committee Board
Nebraska Commission on the Status of Women
National Association of Commissions for Women
2001 Athena Award for Outstanding Women in Business
2004 Central Community College Alumni of the Year
2007 Nebraska State Chamber Leadership Nebraska
NFIP Nebraska Leadership Council
Winning Women, Excellence in Public Service
Columbus Area Chamber Technology Task Force, past chair
Columbus Leadership, alumni and coordinator
Center for Rural Development and Revitalization Advisory Board
Columbus Area Women's Division, past president and board member

John NovotnyJohn A. Novotny, Chair

Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Columbus Community Hospital (patient transport driver)
Education: Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Technical Degree in Computer Programming, Electronic Computer Programming Institute, Omaha
Master of Business Administration, Wayne State College
Affiliations and Awards: 
Columbus Medical Mission Team, Columbus, NE – (international missions)
Columbus Paws & Claws (Animal Shelter), Columbus, NE – (finance committee)
Federated Church, Columbus, NE – (committee’s, choir, etc.)
Global Partners in Hope, Omaha, NE – (board of directors)
Platte County Nebraska 4-H family of the year
Nebraska Presbyterian Welfare Foundation, Lincoln, NE – (board of directors)
Prairie Village Retirement Center, Columbus, NE – (board of directors)
Red Cross Nebraska/Iowa, regional and national – (disaster responder)


Sam CowanSam Cowan

Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Retired
Education: Bachelor of Science in Physics and Math
Affiliations and Awards:
American Radio League