Skip navigation
Skip navigation

Board of Governors

Biographies and Helpful Links
  • Central Community College is governed by an 11-member Board of Governors. Two members are elected from each of five election districts. One member is elected at-large. Members are elected to four-year terms with no limit on the number of terms. 

    Live board meeting 
    Archived meeting information and videos
    Counties and precincts included in each election district

    (In the following biographies, Professional Affiliations and Awards include both current and past affiliations and awards.) 

    District 1

    d keller

    Diane Keller, NCCA Representative

    Term Expires: 
    Chief Executive Officer, Memorial Community Health Inc., Aurora
    Bachelor of Science in Nursing  
    Master of Health Care Administration  
    Affiliations and Awards:

    Hamilton County Leadership Tomorrow Chair  
    Nebraska Community College Association Board  
    Heartland Health Alliance  
    Governor’s Commission on Child Care Financing  
    Nebraska LEAD Fellow 

    p krieger

    Paul Krieger

    Term Expires: 2020 
    Employment: Co-owner, Krieger Electric Co.
    Education: Bachelor of Science in Math, Master of Business Administration
    Affiliations and Awards:
    Hastings Area Chamber of Commerce Board Chairman
    Hastings College Trustee
    Hastings Rotary Club

    District 2

    r skiles

    Rita Skiles

    Term Expires: 2018 
    Employment: Self-Employed Advocacy Consultant
    Education: Bachelor of Arts in English and School Rehabilitation Counseling
    Affiliations and Awards:
    Region III Developmental Disabilities Council Chairwoman
    Cental Region Autism Spectrum Disorder Advisory Member
    Nebraska APSE Governing Board
    National APSE Advisory Board
    Central Nebraska Respite Advisory Board
    Wendy Wood National Award
    Association of Community Professionals
    National High Expectations Award from the Assessment
    Training Institute

    David Stubbs

    David Stubbs

    Term Expires:
    Employment: Retired from Veteran’s Administration
    Affiliations and Awards:
    Army Veteran – Vietnam War Era
    Member of Kearney Chamber Legislative Committee
    Member of American Legion and D.A.V.
    Member of Nebraska Veteran’s First Committee
    Past president of Nebraska Community College Association
    Past member of Coordinating Commission for Post-Secondary Education
    Past member of Central Community College Board of Governors
    Past member of Central Community College Foundation  
    Past member of Central Community College Facilities Financing Corporation
    Past County Chairman Republican Party
    Past Board Chairman Selective Service System
    Nominee for Nebraska Federal Employee of the Year 

    District 3

    RD Davis

    Dr. Roger Davis, Vice Chair

    Term Expires: 2018
    Employment: History Professor, University of Nebraska at Kearney
    Education: Bachelor arts degree, Youngstown State University; Master of Arts degree and Ph.D, University of Arizona; Arizona community College teaching certificate.
    Affiliations and Awards:
    National advisory board and national council member, Phi Alpha Theta national history honor society; President, North Central Council of Latin Americanists; Education Academy President, Nebraska State Education Association Higher; University of Nebraska Nineteenth Century Studies Steering; Buffalo County Historical Society Board member and editor of Buffalo Tales, the organization’s publication; UNK United Way Campaign chairman.

    s borden

    Sandra Borden, NCCA Representative and Treasurer 

    Term Expires: 2020 
    Employment: Nurse Practitioner for Prompt Care Medical Provider
    Education: Master's Degree in Nursing, Post Master's Certificate
    Affiliations and Awards:
    Nebraska Nurse Practitioners
    Nebraska Pride Chorus of Sweet Adelines International
    American College Nurse Practitioners
    Outstanding Nurse Practitioner for Nebraska, 2010
    American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

    District 4

    Austin Miller

    Austin Miller, Chair 

    Grand Island
    Term Expires: 2018
    Employment: Firefighter/Paramedic  
    Education: Bachelor of science - E.M.S.
    Affiliations and Awards:  
    Operation Warm (Local Coordinator)
    Special Olympics Swim Team Coach and Volunteer
    Anti-Drunk Driving Demonstration on Creighton Campus
    Volunteer for Numerous North Platte Recreation Center Triathlons and Road Races
    Secretary of Creighton EMS Club

    t pirnie

    Tom Pirnie

    Grand Island
    Term Expires: 2020 
    Employment: President, Grand Island Express
    Education: Two Years in Electronics
    Affiliations and Awards:
    GIEDC Vice Chairman
    Five Pointe Bank
    Nebraska Trucking Association
    Truckload Carriers Association
    Grand Island Rotary Club (Past President)
    Grand Island Dive Rescue Team
    Past Chairman, Nebraska Trucking Association 

    District 5

    l aerni

    Linda Aerni

    Term Expires: 2018 
    Employment: CEO and President, Digital Gaming Solutions; CEO, Community Internet Systems
    Education: Associate of Science, Bachelor of Science 
    Affiliations and Awards:
    Nebraska Information Technology Committee Board
    Nebraska Commission on The Status of Women
    National Association Commissions of Women
    2001 Athena Award for Outstanding Women in Business
    2004 Central Community College Alumni of the Year
    2007 Nebraska State Chamber Leadership Nebraska
    NFIP Nebraska Leadership Council
    Winning Women, Excellence in Public Service
    Columbus Area Chamber Technology Task Force (Past Chairperson)
    Columbus Leadership, Alumni and Coordinator
    Center for Rural Development and Revitalization Advisory Board
    Columbus Area Women's Division (Past President and Board Member)

    John Novotny

    John A. Novotny

    Term Expires:
    Employment: John A. Novotny Consulting – Medical & Professional

    University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE – Agricultural Economics (B.S.) 1977
    Electronic Computer Programming Institute, Omaha, NE – Technical Degree (Computer Programming) 1980
    Wayne State College, Wayne, NE – Masters In Business Administration (M.B.A.) 2000
    Association of Otolaryngology Administrators (1988-2017)      
    Nebraska Medical Group Managers Association (1990-2017)     
    Federated Church of Columbus, NE (Since 1897)
    Presbyterian Welfare Foundation, Lincoln, NE (Past board member and V.P. 2006-2015)
    Prairie Village Retirement Center, Columbus, NE (Past board President 2003-2012)
    Nebraska Supreme Court Committee on Inquiry (Current appointee through 2019)
    United Way Columbus, NE and Rochester, MN (Past board member)
    Red Cross Volunteer and DAT team member (also 10-gallon blood donation club)
    Farmhouse Fraternity, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE (1973-1977)
    Columbus Medical Mission Team, Worldwide medical missions (Since 2010)
    Sertoma (Past member)
    Lions Club (Past member)
    Innocents Society Scholarship, University of Nebraska, Lincoln (1973)
    Nebraska Economics & Business Association (1998)
    2001 Platte County 4-H Family Of The Year 


    s cowan

    Sam Cowan, Secretary

    Term Expires: 2020 
    Employment: Retired
    Education: Bachelor of Science in Physics and Math
    Affiliations and Awards:
    American Radio League